The Wesley-St.Andrew’s Research Institute Board, chaired by Mr Peter Allen, consists of 15 highly qualified, skilled and dedicated men and women who not only govern the Institute but are actively committed to fundraising for medical research.

    Mr Peter Allen, Chairman

Peter Allen is a partner with the national law firm Allens Arthur Robinson and is a Notary Public. He is currently Chairman of BioPharmaceuticals Australia (Network) Pty Ltd, a director of Ensham Workers Entitlement Fund Pty Ltd and The Riverside Coal Transport Company Pty Ltd. In the community, he is a past president of the MS Society of Queensland and the Revenue Law Committee of the Queensland Law Society.

Mr Martin Albrecht AC

Previous Chairman of the Board, and a prominent Australian businessman experienced in engineering and construction, Martin was Chairman of Thiess Pty Ltd (having previously been the company’s Chief Executive) and a nonexecutive Director of Leighton Holdings Ltd. He’s currently Chair of Exergen Pty Ltd and has wide ranging government and community involvements.

Martin was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for service to the construction industry, export markets, the engineering profession and the community. He has received the Australian Constructors Association and QUT Distinguished Constructors Awards, Honorary Doctorates from the University of Queensland, QUT, Uni SA, an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia and is a recipient of the Centenary Medal.

Dr John Allan

John is the Director of the Wesley Reproductive Medicine and Gynaecological Surgery Unit and the Medical Director of Wesley Monash IVF. He is the Director of the clinical teaching program at Wesley Monash IVF and is a member of the UnitingCare Health Human Research Ethics Committee. He has an active interest in clinical research and also produces the annual community ANZAC concerts at The Wesley Hospital.

Mr Christopher Barnard

Chris Barnard is Executive Director of JBWere. He has been involved in the non-profit sector for over twenty years having been a Director of Bluecare and Churches of Christ Care. He has chaired the Queensland Aged Care Planning Advisory Committee for the Federal Government and is currently a committee member of Prince of Peace Lutheran School College Council. Chris has a Bachelor of Business from QUT, an MBA from the University of Queensland and a Graduate Diploma in Financial Planning.

Mr Paul Darrouzet

Paul Darrouzet has been the Chairman of the Lifestream Foundation since 2004. He has served as the Chairman of Foxleigh Mining Pty Ltd, General Manager of Australian Bulk Minerals and Group Manager HR for Thiess Contractors Pty Ltd. Paul has a Bachelor of Business from QUT and an active interest in medical research and social responsibility.

Mr Collin Myers

A WSARI Director since 2004, Collin Myers is an investor relations consultant with a strong background in media and public affairs. Formerly a political reporter in Brisbane, Canberra and London, he worked as Senior Adviser to the Australian Prime Minister and was MIM’s long time head of corporate affairs.

Collin serves as President of the Queensland Youth Orchestras and a Director of the Queensland Private Enterprise Centre. He was formerly Chair of the Queensland College of Art and the TN Theatre Company, Deputy Chair of the Brisbane Biennial Festival and a Director of the Royal Queensland Bush Children’s Health Scheme and the National Heart Foundation.

Dr Luis Prado

Dr Luis Prado, Director of Medical Services at The Wesley Hospital, joined the WRI Board in 2007. He brings extensive health care experience both as a clinician and a manager. Following early years in the Royal Australian Army Medical Corps, Luis held executive medical positions at The Prince Charles Hospital and in the Sunshine Coast Health Services. Luis is Chair of the UnitingCare Health Safety and Quality Committee and a member of both the National and Queensland Open Disclosure Committees.

Mr Richard Royle

Richard has more than 27 years experience in the healthcare industry including his current role as Executive Director of UnitingCare Health. Other roles held by Richard include Strategic Funding Director for Medibank Private and as Director in a private consulting company specialising in health and
aged care.

Richard was a founding Board member of Uniting Aged Care, Vic/Tas. He is Vice-President of the Australian Private Hospitals Association. Towards the end of 2010 he was appointed as a trustee director of the Health and Community Industries Fund (HESTA).

Mr Charlie Sartain

Charlie Sartain joined the WSARI Board in 2009. A leading Queenslandbased mining industry figure, he is Chief Ex ecutive of Xstrata Copper, the world’s fourth largest copper producer with operations in five countries. Charlie had a long career at MIM Holdings prior its acquisition by Xstrata in 2003, advancing through mining engineering and management roles at Mount Isa, Ravenswood and Cloncurry (Ernest Henry mine) and leading the transformation of MIM’s goldcopper mining business in Argentina.

Charlie chairs the International Copper Association and is a Director of the Council on Australian Latin America Relations and the sustainable Minerals Institute at the University of Queensland.