Our Board

Our Patrons

Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM, Governor of Queensland

Chief Patron

Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM is the 27th Governor of Queensland and representative of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queensland’s Head of State.

    Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM, Governor of Queensland

    Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM is the 27th Governor of Queensland and representative of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queensland’s Head of State.

    Assoc Prof John Allan


    Associate Professor  John Allan has been an obstetrician and gynaecologist VMP at The Wesley Hospital since 1984. He is the Chief Academic Medical Officer of UnitingCare Health and Head of the UnitingCare Health Clinical School. 

      Emeritus Professor John Pearn AO


      Professor John Pearn is a senior pediatrician, academic, doctor-soldier, researcher and writer. John was awarded his higher Doctorate of Medicine and is the author of over 500 papers.

        Mr Martin Albrecht AC


        Mr Albrecht is a prominent Australian businessman, best known for his service as Chairman, previously CEO of Thiess Pty Ltd, and former Wesley Medical Research Chairman. 

          Our Board

          The Wesley Medical Research Board, chaired by Mr Charlie Sartain, consists of skilled and dedicated people who govern the organisation and seek to contribute to and assist with fundraising for medical research.

          Mr Charlie Sartain smiling at camera.

          Mr Charlie Sartain


          Mr Sartain joined the Wesley Medical Research Board in 2009. Mr Sartain has more than 30 years of international mining experience as a mining engineer and senior executive. Over the past six years, he has also served as an independent non-executive director on several Australian and international listed corporate boards. Mr Sartain was a two-term member of the Senate of The University of Queensland (UQ) and Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Sustainable Minerals Institute at UQ.

            Mr Andrew Barron

            Chief Executive Officer

            Mr Barron is the Chief Executive Officer of Wesley Medical Research. Mr Barron has previously worked as the Chief Operating Officer of the Qld Division of the Royal Flying Doctors Service of Australia for four years and prior to that he has spent nine years in management roles at St Andrew’s War Memorial Hospital, four of which as General Manager. Prior to becoming CEO, he served for more than two years as a Wesley Medical Research Board member during his tenure at St Andrew’s hospital.

              Mr Michael Krieg smiling at camera.

              Mr Michael Krieg

              Board Member

              Mr Krieg has over 30 years of experience, commencing his career as a nurse before becoming the General Manager of The Wesley Hospital in 2017. Mr Krieg is the Group Executive Hospitals, UnitingCare Queensland.

                Prof Mary Lou Fleming smiling at camera.

                Prof Mary-Louise Fleming

                Board Member

                Professor Fleming is Head of the School of Public Health and Social Work at the Queensland University of Technology. Professor Fleming has over 25 years of experience in public health and health promotion.

                  Ms Cheryl Clayton smiling at camera.

                  Ms Cheryl Clayton

                  Board Member

                  Ms Clayton is the Director of Clinical Services at The Wesley Hospital and Director of Mercy Super.
                  Ms Clayton has worked in senior leadership roles within public and private health sectors.

                    Dr James Aylward smiling at camera.

                    Dr James Aylward

                    Board Member

                    Dr Aylward is an innovative researcher and an active mentor for tech start-ups in health sciences.
                    Dr Aylward was awarded the 2018 Clunies Ross Innovation Award for developing Picato, an anti-skin cancer drug.

                      Dr John Lumley smiling at camera.

                      Dr John Lumley

                      Board Member

                      Dr Lumley is a colorectal surgeon practising at The Wesley Hospital. Dr Lumley has served on the executives of the Gastroenterological Society of Australia, and the Colorectal Society of Australia and New Zealand.

                        Ms Mairi McNeill smiling at camera.

                        Ms Mairi McNeill

                        Board Member

                        Ms McNeill was General Manager of St Andrew’s War Memorial Hospital. Ms McNeill is an experienced healthcare executive who has worked in the private industry for over 23 years.

                          Dr John Rivers

                          Board Member

                          Dr Rivers is a practising cardiologist and founding member of the Queensland Cardiovascular Group.
                          Dr Rivers has extensive experience in business development and governance in the healthcare industry.

                            Mr David Hairsine smiling at camera.

                            Mr David Hairsine

                            Board Member

                            Mr Hairsine is a highly experienced business leader with many years of driving growth strategy as General Manager, Finance and Treasury at mining company PanAust Limited and now works in a consultant role to the same.

                              Mr Neal O'Conner smiling at camera.

                              Mr Neal O'Connor

                              Board Member

                              Mr O’Connor was appointed a Non-Executive Director in 2020. He holds a Bachelor of Laws degree and has extensive experience in the resource industry with expertise in Corporate Governance and Risk Management to the Board. Mr O’Connor also holds a Non-Executive Director role at Mitchell Services Limited and was formerly General Counsel and Company Secretary, and is an Executive Committee member of the global Xstrata Copper mining company.

                                Ms Karen Read

                                Board Member


                                Karen joined the Wesley Medical Research Board in 2021.  Karen holds a Bachelor of Business, is an FCPA, GAICD and MAMI. Karen is a senior finance and commercial executive and has extensive experience within the mining and resources sector with a career spanning 30 years.  From 2014 to 2017, Karen was employed as the Chief Financial Officer for Premise, a consulting engineering and project practice. 

                                  Dr Shanthi Kanagarajah

                                  Board Member

                                  Dr Shanthi Kanagarajah is a practising Geriatrician and General Physician in both private and public hospitals. She is the Clinical Director of the Geriatric Evaluation and Management unit at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital and is a founding Director of Queensland Physician Care.

                                    Mr Des Olling smiling at camera.

                                    Mr Des Olling

                                    Company Secretary

                                    Mr Olling has a long history as a Company Secretary in private and multinational companies. He joined Wesley Medical Research in May 2016 as a volunteer and was appointed Company Secretary in June 2018.

                                        Wesley Medical Research

                                        Scroll to Top