Our Patrons

Untitled design (3)

Hon Paul de Jersey AC

Chief Patron

His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC is the 26th Governor of Queensland and representative of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queensland’s Head of State.

Untitled design (2)
Emeritus Professor John Pearn

Professor John Pean is a senior pediatrician, academic, doctor-soldier, researcher and writer. John was awarded his higher Doctorate of Medicine and is the author of over 500 papers.


Martin Albrecht AC


Martin Albrecht is a prominent Australian businessman, best known for his service as Chairman, previously CEO and former Wesley Medical Research Chairman. 

Our Board

The Wesley Medical Research Board, chaired by Mr Peter Allen, consists of skilled and dedicated people who govern the organisation and seek to contribute to and assist with fundraising for medical research.

Mr Peter Allan, Chairman of the WMR board

Peter Allen


A WMR director since 2005, Peter Allen is a former partner in and consultant to national law firm Allens Linklaters and is a Notary Public.


Charlie Sartain

Board Member

Charlie Sartain joined the WMR Board in 2009. Charlie has more than 30 years of international mining experience. He also a Member of the UQ Senate and Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Sustainable Minerals Institute.


A/Prof John Allan

Senior Research Advisor

A/Prof John Allan has been an obstetrician and gynaecologist VMP at The Wesley Hospital since 1984. He is the Chief Academic Medical Officer of UnitingCare Health and Head of the UnitingCare Health Clinical School. 


Peter Crowley

Board Member

Peter is a highly experienced business leader and public company director with 15 years of experience leading public companies and 17 years of experience serving on public company boards both in Australia and overseas.


Dr Ian Dickinson

Board Member

Dr Dickinson has been an orthopaedic surgeon at the Wesley Hospital for over 25 years. He has also served as Chairman of the Queensland Branch of the Australian Orthopaedic Association. 


Prof MaryLou Fleming

Board Member

MaryLou is Head of School of Public Health and Social Work at the Queensland University of Technology. She brings over 25 yrs experience in public health and health promotion.


Dr Christine Foley

Board Member

Dr Christine Foley is the Director of Clinical Governance with UnitingCare Health. She worked in senior leadership roles within Catholic health and aged care as a nursing leader and brings her unique perspective. 


Dr James Aylward

Board Member

Dr Jim Aylward is an innovative researcher and an active mentor for tech start-ups in health sciences. Dr Aylward was recently awarded the 2018 Clunies Ross Innovation Award for developing Picato, an anti-skin cancer drug.


Dr John Lumley

Board Member

Dr Lumley is a colorectal surgeon practicing at the Wesley Hospital. John has served on the executives of the Gastroenterological Society of Australia, and the Colorectal Society of AU and NZ.

Wesley Medical Research

Scroll to Top